Powered by Invision Power Board

Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)!
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Use AC Relay on DC Circuit?
sentinel
Posted: May 19, 2006 10:18 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post

Group: Members+
Member No.: 5,195

Hi

First off I want to say that I have some background knowledge in electronics basics and theory, but I have some blanks that need to be filled in. wink.gif

What I'm wondering is this:

I picked up a small device which controls a device plugged into a 120V AC outlet with an RF remote (on/off). Kind of like a 3-pronged pass-through thing. Looks like this.

I was wondering if it would be possible to use it on a DC circuit to power on a computer or coffee maker remotely. (Forgetting for a minute that a computer needs a momentary switch.)

I cracked it open and the switching seems to be controlled by an "801H-1A-C" SPNO Relay. (PDF Datasheet I found) {it also has the following written on it: 24VDC, 10A 250VAC, 15A 125VAC} Unfortunately I don't know a lot about relays.

Would it be possible to adapt such a device to control a simple DC circuit?

If I draw power from an external source (PC's DC Power Supply, DC batteries, or indepentdant AC line if need be), could it just act as a simple switch to open/close a DC circuit?

If so, how would I wire that?

Any help would be appreciated! smile.gif

This post has been edited by sentinel on May 20, 2006 12:17 am
PMEmail Poster
Jimthecopierwrench
Posted: May 20, 2006 12:17 am

Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Member No.: 561

I certainly don't see why not. I mean obviously it won't live long if you're trying for remote swiching of an automotive starter motor, but yeah, for the most part mechanical relays aren't going to be too fussy about what they're switching.

how would I wire that?

Well, input and output...

The "output" is a set of contacts, not unlike ones in a regular switch. They're labelled the same way too - by number of poles, throws, and rest state.