Powered by Invision Power Board

Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Newb Working On A Pinball Macine, transistor and capacitor questions
esj001
Posted: May 06, 2012 07:26 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post

Group: Members+
Member No.: 36,736

Hello--i hope i am barking up the right tree by posting this here but no one at the pinball forums seem to be able to help.

First of all sorry for the very long post but i just want to be detailed about what I have tried

My friend has about a dozen pinballs and can repair minor things but cannot read wiring prints very well

I am an airplane mechanic and have had a few electricity classes and can read wiring prints pretty well.

I have access to all kinds of tools and test equipment.

We were are trying to troubleshoot a Stern Nascar pinball

Basically he has 3 opto switches that are not testing in test mode----he replaced these and still no go----- the new ones seem to test fine when you probe the back of them and interrupt the light the voltage changes like it should.

I got into the wiring print and discovered that these 3 swithes go to two different opto amplifier boards and then the row or column signal (cant remember which) for all 3 go through one NPN transistor up on the main power board

Ok------ so we figure it has to be that transistor----but in circuit (we have not removed it) it tests fine and gives similar readings to all the others of the same value------which brings me to my questions

Can a transistor test good but still be bad?? Is there a way I can rule this out and make sure its good or bad without removing it from the board???

Also in the wiring print there seems to be a capacitor and a resistor connected to this transistor
Resistor ohms out fine

But the capacitor seems to give a different reading than the others of the same value ( it is still in circuit as well) It is a .01 microfarad capacitor