Powered by Invision Power Board

Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)
Pages:12 ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Beginner Help, Need help with materials/resources
SidMan
Posted: December 29, 2011 04:13 am
Reply to this postQuote Post

Group: Members+
Member No.: 36,298

Hi -

I'm a computer scientist and know how to program but since I was very young Ive been interested in electronics. I have a small project I think is simple and wondering if you had any information or tutorials to lead me down the right path. Every time I go to research this I always get lost and I'll try to explain my project to you.

I want to use a small, inexpensive character LCD, a keypad (0-9 digits and # and *) and I want to be able to use the keypad to set a number of minutes, hours and have the LCD count down until it's reached the desired time. Where it gets a little more complicated (for me at least) is I want to power it with 4 AA batteries, I want to have a reset button, and I have the electronics but I want to use an electric lock that when sent a signal will unlock. My final project goal is to build a "safe" that I can set a timer to and have it unlock when I've hit the desired amount of time.

Again I can program so I once I had the electronics set up I could use a PIC to flash and test my code with but I know so little about electronics - again every time I go to research what it takes I will easily get lost on a single concept.

A couple of questions - is this a project that requires many years of experience or could someone like myself be able to do this as a first project? Also - any resources or information you could share (preferably links but also books) of sites I could go to would be very helpful. Also any kits (low cost please I don't have much money) you would recommend would be appreciated.