Powered by Invision Power Board


Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)!
Pages:««<23456 ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Crane's Next Cnc, On to #2
tekwiz
Posted: November 23, 2011 10:43 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




QUOTE (johansen @ November 23, 2011 01:23 pm)
@Tekwiz, have you heard of basalt fiber rebar? its twice the tensile strength of steel, but about 3 times the cost. Something you might consider for a prestressed concrete cnc machine. laugh.gif

No, I haven't. Sounds real interesting, though, especially if it's anwhere comparable to carbon or kevlar fiber. Especially as it shouldn't rust.
I used some carbon fiber in my hovercraft & that stuff is incredible. A 2" wide strip of .010 epoxy carbon fiber composite a foot long & I couldn't even bend it, much less break it. I used it to surround my lift fan duct in case of catastrophic failure. Necessary as the duct was right between my legs when in the pilot's seat.
What I'm eagerly awaiting is commercial production of diamond fiber. This has been made in the lab, & diamond coating of steel tools is a well developed technology, widely used in the tool & die industry.


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
jman 31
Posted: January 29, 2012 06:55 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict
******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 894
Member No.: 23,347
Joined: April 01, 2009




What's the latest on this project Crane550? I was really enjoying the build process and being extremely jealous! laugh.gif


--------------------
My DIY Forum http://www.italentshare.com/forum
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
AwesomeMatt
Posted: January 29, 2012 07:37 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 3,031
Member No.: 9,878
Joined: June 21, 2007




He got a mustang and a CNC knee mill. Y'know, that notoriously detrimental problem of "too many awesome things at the same time." tongue.gif
PMEmail Poster
Top
tekwiz
Posted: January 29, 2012 11:09 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




QUOTE (AwesomeMatt @ January 29, 2012 10:37 am)
He got a mustang and a CNC knee mill. Y'know, that notoriously detrimental problem of "too many awesome things at the same time." tongue.gif

Manual knee mill. It has digital position readouts, but no CNC. wink.gif


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
AwesomeMatt
Posted: January 29, 2012 11:21 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 3,031
Member No.: 9,878
Joined: June 21, 2007




QUOTE
Manual knee mill. It has digital position readouts, but no CNC.


Even worse! Needs immediate conversion *into* a CNC tongue.gif
PMEmail Poster
Top
tekwiz
Posted: January 29, 2012 11:32 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




QUOTE (AwesomeMatt @ January 29, 2012 02:21 pm)
QUOTE
Manual knee mill. It has digital position readouts, but no CNC.


Even worse! Needs immediate conversion *into* a CNC tongue.gif

Conversion kits are available. Problem is, converting to CNC will make simple one off jobs much more difficult & time consuming. One must do nearly as much work as with a manual machine, plus having to write a program.
CNC is best for production use & odd shapes that are nearly impossible to make on a manual machine. wink.gif


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
crane550
Posted: January 31, 2012 04:34 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




I have been pretty busy and not had much time to work on this. I really look forward to getting back to it. I want to clean up my garage a bit, and and starting to like the idea of only having one CNC at the moment. No space for all my projects!

I am very close to mounting the rack. After that I will have movement on my X. A couple small mounts on the carriage are needed for the Y rack, and then I will have movement Y. Lastly I need to make a stepper mount for Z so I can move up and down. Then the mechanical end will pretty much be complet.

Electronics are a weekend job at max. Probably will have it moving on its own within a couple hours. Then there is the enormous task of tuning tuning tuning.


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
crane550
Posted: January 31, 2012 04:44 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




My kid did help me test it out...

http://youtu.be/EnSq97MmY38


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
jman 31
Posted: January 31, 2012 02:17 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict
******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 894
Member No.: 23,347
Joined: April 01, 2009




OK man, good stuff. I like the video! thumbsup.gif Looking forward to your future work on the machine! cool.gif


--------------------
My DIY Forum http://www.italentshare.com/forum
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
crane550
Posted: March 03, 2012 04:45 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




Its been a while, but I have recently made some progress. The X axis is all but done. I need to make some spacers to go underneath, but other then that it's finished. It works really good, and by shaking it back and forth I cannot detect any backlash. Not bad for bolting it up for the first time.

user posted image

In other news I purchased the power supply and Gecko 203V's. The power supply is a 35V. Not sure what the amp output is, but I know it is more then enough from the size of the transformer. It can we wired to draw from 110 or 220. I will most likely start with 110, but who knows.

user posted image

Last but not least, 4x Gecko 203V's. These should have no problems making this machine move.

user posted image

user posted image


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
crane550
Posted: March 04, 2012 06:55 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




The Y axis rack and pinion is set up. I lack a spring, but I managed to get the rack aligned so well that it has consistent tension across the entire run. It will work until I get a spring anyways. I need to get proper springs for all the axis's R & P, as well as a shock for equalizing the weight of the Z slide.

Here is the Y R&P.

user posted image

user posted image

PMC came out to inspect. He pointed out a few ideas for wire routing, but otherwise approved of progress.

user posted image

user posted image

Also added a spoil board. It's starting to look like a CNC.

user posted image


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
Geek
Posted: March 04, 2012 07:15 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,943
Member No.: 62
Joined: July 23, 2002




Holy cow, that's a good CNC!

Just look at the lifelike baby he made with it! biggrin.gif

Definately give us perspective on the size of things there.

Cheers!


--------------------
-= Gregg =-
"Ratings are for transistors.....tubes have guidelines"
(please do not PM me for advice. Non-forum business messages will be ignored)
PMUsers Website
Top
AwesomeMatt
Posted: March 04, 2012 08:53 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 3,031
Member No.: 9,878
Joined: June 21, 2007




Not that I'm that in touch with these things.. but that's the biggest home-brew CNC table I've ever seen. I'm sure it holds no records, but still, few and far between.

Progress looks great.
PMEmail Poster
Top
Geek
Posted: March 04, 2012 10:38 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,943
Member No.: 62
Joined: July 23, 2002




Largest home brew indeed!

Crane, I'm seriously impressed.

The only CNC I ever got to work on myself was a glass cutting machine. I think it took snooker-table-sized pieces of glass (it was nearly 30 years ago, now). Used punched paper for programming blink.gif When it got kinked, the results were amusing! laugh.gif
('cept for the boss, who had to shell out for the 3mm tempered glass)

Cheers!


--------------------
-= Gregg =-
"Ratings are for transistors.....tubes have guidelines"
(please do not PM me for advice. Non-forum business messages will be ignored)
PMUsers Website
Top
JoOngle
Posted: March 04, 2012 01:03 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,021
Member No.: 3,818
Joined: December 12, 2005




QUOTE (Geek @ March 04, 2012 10:38 am)
Largest home brew indeed!

Crane, I'm seriously impressed.


Yeah, thats Isane... shock.gif


--------------------
If my soul was software, I could program myself and you.
PMEmail Poster
Top
jman 31
Posted: March 04, 2012 02:18 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict
******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 894
Member No.: 23,347
Joined: April 01, 2009




Awesome! thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif


--------------------
My DIY Forum http://www.italentshare.com/forum
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
crane550
Posted: March 05, 2012 01:45 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




The machine is ALIVE! I could not wait anymore, so i hooked up my old Hobby CNC board to it and jogged the table around a bit. It was FUN. I maxed out at 1000IPM. Trying to go any faster would stall on both axis's. So I am optimistic that once it is running on the 4x 203V's, which have double the amp rating per channel, it will scoot along quite nicely. It is using 100% of what the Hobby CNC board will push, so it is very much expected that it has not reached it's top speed yet.

What I like even more is how accurate it seems to be so far. Despite not having my springs correctly I attached a dial indicator, set it to 0, ran the table down to the other end, hit "Go to Z" and the dial read dead 0 upon it's return. Not .0005, but 0. This was at about 600IPM. I ran the test about 4-5 times, and got the same result every time. Repeat ability is good, even before tuning.

Anyways, thought I would share the good news. The new breakout board should be here any day now, and then I will be able to wire up the 203's.

Too cool. I used a guess and check method for finding my number steps needed. I think 1361 was where I ended up, and that seemed at least in the ballpark. My dial indicator concurred, although that is only measuring the accuracy within an inch. Measuring over approx 2 feet seemed to get me within a few %. Note this is not an accuracy issue with the machine, but just a math problem which I have not completely worked out the correct answer.

It took me a bit to get the math to add up. I am so used to calculating screws I realized I have never calculated a R&P setup. We know that 1360 is CLOSE to the right answer and what factors play a role in steps per inch, so the only thing left to do is find out what gets multiplied and what gets divided.

Here is what I know so far:

200 steps per motor revolution
8 microsteps per step. This totals 1600 steps per one motor revolution.

It takes 4 turns to rotate the pinion gear 1 turn. 4:1 reduction.

Now to find out how far one revolution will go.

The rack is 5 teeth per inch, and the pinion is 24 teeth per revolution.


So with this data....

200steps * 8microsteps * 4(reduction) * (26teeth/5teeth) = 1333.333

Seems close and makes sense. I would have to double check later when I have time.



--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
crane550
Posted: March 05, 2012 05:30 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005






--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
Jawno
Posted: March 05, 2012 08:51 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Member
****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 157
Member No.: 34,329
Joined: January 20, 2011




Looks like a nice machine. Did you buy your linear bearings and rails new or did you get them from ebay? Those things can be a major jolt to the pocketbook if you buy them new. Wish mine was that close but I'm trying not to break the bank building it. Sounds like your using top quality stuff throughout your build. thumbsup.gif
PMEmail Poster
Top
tanky321
Posted: March 07, 2012 02:45 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Jr. Member
***

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 9,865
Joined: June 19, 2007




Awesome work, that thing is mean!

Are you planning on incorporating any type of closed loop positioning in the future? If so, the company im using for my servo's is Animatics. The control is beautifully simple, via programming you can config them for a Step/Dir input, which Mach3 outputs via parallel. Using this all that is required is a breakout board, with some isolation, since the Animatics SmartMotors have controls built into the motor. Its as simple as providing 24-48V via a 7W2 D-Sub, and Step/Dir via a 15P D-Sub.


I digress, great work again!!
PMEmail Poster
Top
crane550
Posted: March 07, 2012 03:33 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




QUOTE (Jawno @ March 05, 2012 08:51 pm)
Looks like a nice machine. Did you buy your linear bearings and rails new or did you get them from ebay? Those things can be a major jolt to the pocketbook if you buy them new. Wish mine was that close but I'm trying not to break the bank building it. Sounds like your using top quality stuff throughout your build. thumbsup.gif

I got my rails all used. Totaled around $500 for the entire project I think. New they would have been $$$$! You can find them used, and I have not come across a used THK set I have thought was too far gone yet.

The #1 recommendation I make to people is use some sort of LM guide solution over most DIY methods. Its a bit more cost up front, but the payoff is incredible.


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
crane550
Posted: March 07, 2012 03:35 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




QUOTE (tanky321 @ March 07, 2012 02:45 am)
Awesome work, that thing is mean!

Are you planning on incorporating any type of closed loop positioning in the future? If so, the company im using for my servo's is Animatics. The control is beautifully simple, via programming you can config them for a Step/Dir input, which Mach3 outputs via parallel. Using this all that is required is a breakout board, with some isolation, since the Animatics SmartMotors have controls built into the motor. Its as simple as providing 24-48V via a 7W2 D-Sub, and Step/Dir via a 15P D-Sub.


I digress, great work again!!

Besides home sensors, no. They are not really needed for this application. Once the machine is tuned you have nothing to worry about. Nearly all machines in this class run open loop.


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
crane550
Posted: March 11, 2012 12:14 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




Made big progress today, here are a couple bullet points:

* Gantry now welded. It looks passable, I am definitely getting better.

* New PC for the job is built. It is an MSI Athlon 64 board made of misc parts I had plus a few items from the Reusueum. The hardest part was finding a XP key code / CD combination that would work out of the 10 different M$ os version I have. I do not plan on using a case for the PC, I plan to mount the motherboard and hard drive all in the same electronics enclosure.

* Decided on Molex connectors instead of DB9's. I have had enough DB9's fail on my current machine to want to try something new. We will see how they work out. I soldered AND crimped them just to be sure I have good connections. They were a lot easier then the DB9's too, so I would recommend doing this to anyone wondering what to use.

* I have hit the speed limit on this machine, but not due to stalling. Mach3 will only let me go up to 900IPM right now. I think it is due to the kernel speed and parallel port. Anyways, I am not complaining at 900- it is cooking at that speed. I see absolutely no trouble hitting my goal of 1200 IPM.

* The MDF everything is mounted to is temporary. Once my Z axis is hooked up I am going to cut myself a nice little aluminum sheet that holds everything and put it in an enclosure.

* I made a temporary router mount for my Porter Cable router, as I have not purchased a spindle. This is just a quick throw away solution for now until I permanently mount a 3kw-ish Chinese deal.

* Still to do:
Homing / Limit switches
Wire management
Z axis motor mount
Spindle
Drag chain on Y
Paint
Misc

Here is a video of the X and Y run today:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSjUYCR5gFo&feature=youtu.be

user posted image

user posted image

The new CNC4PC breakout board

user posted image

user posted image


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
damien
Posted: March 11, 2012 07:14 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 5,503
Member No.: 175
Joined: October 02, 2002




How's the mini one going?

Damien


--------------------
Wow you look quite normal for a geek.

The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
crane550
Posted: March 16, 2012 02:42 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,362
Member No.: 2,878
Joined: July 17, 2005




Have not worked on the mini, but I need to. Most of my efforts have been going to the big one.

Got a lot done today. First, I attached the sub-spoil board with 20-something 5/15 bolts. It is attached really well, and the base is every bit as solid feeling as I hoped for.

user posted image

Also reworked the springs, and made mounts for the tensioner.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image


--------------------
An expert on my own opinion.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic OptionsPages:««<23456 Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 


:: support us ::




ElectronicsSkin by DutchDork & The-Force