Powered by Invision Power Board


Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Infared Transmitter/receiver Circuits, 3channel perfer lm555 timmer
uwigenius
  Posted: May 05, 2011 11:33 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




at least 3channel prefer lm555 timer to turn on/off a load and to turn up and down volume. can anyone help me please
PMEmail Poster
Top
ChipUser
Posted: May 06, 2011 03:38 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 2,406
Member No.: 15,445
Joined: May 30, 2008




The forum accepts long posts. Too cryptic question. Need more data.

What are you interfacing to? Does it have digital volume controls? Why can't you use universal remotes? What is your skill & knowledge level & so on.

PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 07, 2011 05:18 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




am entering my final year of electronics engineering. am controlling a class AB power amplifier with minimum 30wattspeak power. digital volume turning it up/down. am also turning 24vDc dual rail power supply to the amplifier on/off. no i cant use a universal remote marks are awarded for individual component

This post has been edited by uwigenius on May 07, 2011 05:26 pm
PMEmail Poster
Top
tekwiz
Posted: May 07, 2011 07:28 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




LM555 & LM567. A final year EE should be able to determine the rest from the datasheets of these two chips. wink.gif


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
GPG
Posted: May 08, 2011 02:44 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 6,222
Member No.: 792
Joined: April 25, 2004




PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 08, 2011 08:41 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




am not sure do i need more than one lm567 to decode the signal the setup is the prob not what to used. do i am i sending different frequencies what? explaination would be good, am more of an instrumentation minor no telecom or electronics
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 08, 2011 08:44 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




thanks man but timeis against me i need something that is common my country resources are limited etc.
PMEmail Poster
Top
millwood
Posted: May 08, 2011 10:03 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 1,823
Member No.: 25,377
Joined: July 26, 2009




QUOTE
i need something that is common my country resources are limited etc.


have you tried to talk to YoxcQ in XQva? they distribute quite a few of the products in your country and they should have plenty of the KPQ chips (and XCVQ parts too) in inventory.

if that doesn't work, call IQER at 52-4259-236 and ask for Vqj and he will help you get the parts to you through VMQA.

hope it helps.
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 08, 2011 10:15 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




am from Jamaica i dont no what are those places you mention
PMEmail Poster
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: May 08, 2011 10:56 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




QUOTE (uwigenius @ May 08, 2011 02:41 pm)
am not sure do i need more than one lm567 to decode the signal the setup is the prob not what to used. do i am i sending different frequencies what? explaination would be good, am more of an instrumentation minor no telecom or electronics

In this case, three channels means three frequencies. If they aren't used simultaneously, you could use one 555 and vary its frequency with each button press. Otherwise, use one 555 for each frequency.

You'll need one LM567 (other tone decoders are also available) for each frequency unless it's a multi-unit assembly (not sure if multi-units are even viable).

This project shouldn't be too hard for anyone with basic electronics experience, but it may prove quite a challenge otherwise.


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
tekwiz
Posted: May 09, 2011 06:32 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




QUOTE (MacFromOK @ May 08, 2011 01:56 pm)

You'll need one LM567 (other tone decoders are also available) for each frequency unless it's a multi-unit assembly (not sure if multi-units are even viable).

This project shouldn't be too hard for anyone with basic electronics experience, but it may prove quite a challenge otherwise.

That's right, & the necessary decoder schematics are in the 567's datasheet. wink.gif


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
ChipUser
Posted: May 09, 2011 06:44 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 2,406
Member No.: 15,445
Joined: May 30, 2008




With simple circuitry, these channels will give you on-off control. For volume up & down, you will have to use servo type arrangement.
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 09, 2011 11:07 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




thanks guys i have come across some of these earlier just looking for a all in one but i think am gonna have to go with what you suggest
PMEmail Poster
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: May 09, 2011 11:19 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




You might google variations of "electronic volume control" and see what turns up in the way of ICs, kits, or schematics.

Just a thought. Let us know how it goes. beer.gif


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: May 09, 2011 11:46 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




Actually... googling "digital volume control" might be a better option. doh.gif


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 10, 2011 06:40 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




can i use the same photo transistor for all three 567 on the decoder i got a pair work but it on when the transmitter is off only when it detects the frequency it turns off that means i have to be constantly pointing the transmitter at it to keep it off


This post has been edited by uwigenius on May 10, 2011 08:12 pm
PMEmail Poster
Top
ChipUser
Posted: May 10, 2011 07:10 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 2,406
Member No.: 15,445
Joined: May 30, 2008




If you use only one switch at a time, that will work. If you press multiple switches (multiple IR modulation frequencies) at the same time, the circuit could get confused.
PMEmail Poster
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: May 10, 2011 09:50 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




QUOTE (uwigenius @ May 10, 2011 12:40 pm)
only when it detects the frequency it turns off that means i have to be constantly pointing the transmitter at it to keep it off

You'll need control circuitry on the IR receiver that only requires a momentary signal to do the actual switching.


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 14, 2011 12:25 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




Touch volume control circuit diagram
can this work i ggole it but dont know if i will be able to get the ca3130 i cant get this IC anyway so forget it

This post has been edited by uwigenius on May 17, 2011 12:12 am
PMEmail Poster
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: May 14, 2011 03:35 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




QUOTE (uwigenius @ May 13, 2011 06:25 pm)
Touch volume control circuit diagram
can this work i ggole it but dont know if i will be able to get the ca3130

You seem to have forgotten the image/link.


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
uwigenius
Posted: May 17, 2011 12:11 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 9
Member No.: 34,996
Joined: May 05, 2011




http://rachin-jugaad.blogspot.com/2010_04_01_archive.html


i would like to use some thing like this if its possible
PMEmail Poster
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 


:: support us ::




ElectronicsSkin by DutchDork & The-Force