Powered by Invision Power Board


Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)!
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Possible To Change An Inverter From 110v To 220v ?
makourain2
Posted: December 07, 2010 09:41 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
**

Group: Members+
Posts: 25
Member No.: 28,874
Joined: March 29, 2010




is it possible to change an inverter from 110v (american) to 220v ? (australian)

iv bought this inverter off ebay, i asked every kind of question there is except which voltage it puts out wacko.gif

im hoping to god that its 220v as some american things use that, but if its not, is it possible to change it?
PMEmail Poster
Top
johansen
Posted: December 07, 2010 09:57 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 3,160
Member No.: 10,912
Joined: September 06, 2007




about the onlything you can do is step it up 1:2 with a transformer.

ymmv if its a modified square wave inverter.


--------------------
9/11 was really a prototype steel smelter that runs on naturally aspirated jet fuel and phosphorus.
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: December 07, 2010 11:52 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




Note that if you step up voltage output by 2x, amperage capacity will be reduced by approx 1/2. beer.gif


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
sherlock ohms
Posted: December 07, 2010 12:16 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 2,770
Member No.: 26,125
Joined: September 10, 2009




unsure.gif would a 240/110 work if it was powered from the 110 side?..(ie output receiving juice) or would that make an expensive short lived heating element?


--------------------
"Quotation marks make sentences appear more meaningful."
PM
Top
Nothing40
Posted: December 07, 2010 12:17 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 3,565
Member No.: 181
Joined: October 05, 2002




Sure. Any transformer can be used as either a step-up or a step-down.


--------------------
"we need an e-kick-in-the-nuts button" -Colt45
PMUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
MacFromOK
Posted: December 07, 2010 12:19 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 14,189
Member No.: 5,314
Joined: June 04, 2006




If the windings are heavy enough, or if current is limited to their capability... beer.gif


--------------------
Mac *

"Basic research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." [Wernher Von Braun]

* is not responsible for errors, consequential damage, or... anything.
PMEmail Poster
Top
CWB
Posted: December 07, 2010 12:21 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 21,455
Member No.: 15,154
Joined: May 15, 2008




indeed it will ...
i have a transformer that the windings on can be reconfigured .
110/220/440 in or out @ 1.5KVA (about 14A @110)


--------------------
"Know how to solve every problem that has been solved"
R. Feynman '88
PM
Top
makourain2
Posted: December 07, 2010 04:07 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
**

Group: Members+
Posts: 25
Member No.: 28,874
Joined: March 29, 2010




i have this box that plugs in to the 220v mains and gives out the 110v american supply.

so if i just put it backwards ill get the 220v i need?

sounds too easy O_o
PMEmail Poster
Top
tekwiz
Posted: December 07, 2010 05:03 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 28,711
Member No.: 5,746
Joined: July 24, 2006




QUOTE (makourain2 @ December 07, 2010 07:07 am)
i have this box that plugs in to the 220v mains and gives out the 110v american supply.

so if i just put it backwards ill get the 220v i need?

sounds too easy O_o

Only if it's the transformer type. Some of the older high powered units were simple mechanical switches with a 50% duty cycle, similar to the flasher in a car. These were made for use with heating appliances only & won't work in the other direction.

Even a transformer won't produce the correct output voltage with a square wave inverter.


--------------------
Trouble rather the tiger in his lair, than the sage among his books.
For to you, kings & armies are things mighty & enduring.
To him, mere toys of the moment, to be overturned at the flick of a finger.

Fortuna favet fortibus.
PMEmail Poster
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 


:: support us ::




ElectronicsSkin by DutchDork & The-Force