Powered by Invision Power Board


Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)
Pages:123 ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> The Ad9850, Is it a VFO?
cgriggs
Posted: February 19, 2017 10:49 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Member
****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 197
Member No.: 40,300
Joined: December 02, 2016




I have the rotary encoder hooked up as shown, but the leads disengage with movement and I have to occasionally replug them. I soldered the two "power" leads, but not the three encoders. (Soon, very soon!!) LOL

How do I get it to raise in freq when turning the knob clockwise? It used to do that before all the replugging.

The pictorial of the encoder shows: (From the encoder)
pin one goes to pin 1
Pin 2 goes to pin 3 &
pin 3 goes to pin 2

But!! Am I looking down at the encoder from front or from the rear? It's a drawing and doesn't display the shaft.

Charlie

I hope this isn't a stupid question. I've been known!!
PMEmail Poster
Top
kellys_eye
Posted: February 20, 2017 01:38 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 11,418
Member No.: 2,735
Joined: June 21, 2005




The encoder is shown as 'looking down' on it i.e from the shaft side.


--------------------
May contain nuts
PMEmail PosterYahoo
Top
cgriggs
Posted: February 21, 2017 01:10 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Member
****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 197
Member No.: 40,300
Joined: December 02, 2016




I finally got tired of replacing the encoder wires so soldered them in place. No more loose connections on it. Still lowers the freq going clockwise though.
... sigh ... LOL
I guess after 55 years with one woman, I've learned to adapt! LOL
Charlie
PMEmail Poster
Top
kellys_eye
Posted: February 21, 2017 02:57 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 11,418
Member No.: 2,735
Joined: June 21, 2005




Tried swapping the two outer pins?

If that doesn't work there's a menu setting that's meant for offsetting (when used as the input to a mixer for example) that causes the dial to work 'in reverse' but you'll have to wire the appropriate buttons to access it.



--------------------
May contain nuts
PMEmail PosterYahoo
Top
cgriggs
Posted: February 21, 2017 08:30 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Member
****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 197
Member No.: 40,300
Joined: December 02, 2016




I guess after 55 years with one woman, I've learned to adapt! LOL
Charlie
LOL
PMEmail Poster
Top
cgriggs
Posted: March 08, 2017 04:28 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Member
****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 197
Member No.: 40,300
Joined: December 02, 2016




Fixed it! Swapped the two outer pins. Thanks.
PMEmail Poster
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic OptionsPages:123 Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 


:: support us ::




ElectronicsSkin by DutchDork & The-Force