Powered by Invision Power Board


Forum Rules Forum Rules (Please read before posting)
  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Esp8266 Wifi Modules, ESP8266 series modules develop by Ai-thi
nicole-aithinker
Posted: May 06, 2016 10:07 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members+
Posts: 1
Member No.: 40,153
Joined: May 06, 2016




nono.gif
PMEmail Poster
Top
mravenca
Posted: December 12, 2017 02:39 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




Hello, does anybody have experience with module esp-07? I recently bought it and I am not able to communicate with it via serial port. I tried several different baudrates and at all of these baudrates the module prints only some mess to the serial console during boot and then does not react on AT commands.

Thank you for advice!

Vaclav


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
Nothing40
Posted: December 13, 2017 05:25 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 3,781
Member No.: 181
Joined: October 05, 2002




I've got an ESP8266-07 module running Arduino code right beside me. (I don't use the stock firmware much,if ever.)

Depending on the version of Firmware it has,it should be 115200,57600,or 9600 baud.
If you send it "AT" it should respond with "OK".

Some info that might be helpful..
https://room-15.github.io/blog/2015/03/26/e...mand-reference/
http://williamdurand.fr/2015/03/17/playing...66-wifi-module/

(There are also a few threads on this forum about it..)
http://www.dutchforce.com/~eforum/index.ph...58&#entry379158
http://www.dutchforce.com/~eforum/index.ph...49&#entry386549

Make sure you have a stable source of 3.3V power for the ESP module. Using the 3.3V pin of an FTDI (or similar) USB-Serial adapter is not sufficient. (it can't supply enough current.) I usually use a LM1117 3.3V regulator,with a decent sized cap (470uf) on the output,and feed the '1117 from the 5V USB rail.


From what I understand,the 'gibberish' is because of a bit of a bug.It's the boot info,but it's not at the intended baud rate(115200). IIRC it's something like 76800 baud instead. I think this has been fixed in newer modules/firmware. The boot up info looks something like this:

ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:(3,6)

load 0x4010f000, len 1384, room 16
tail 8
chksum 0x2d
csum 0x2d
v09f0c112
~






--------------------
"we need an e-kick-in-the-nuts button" -Colt45
PMUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
mravenca
  Posted: December 13, 2017 09:55 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




I managed to get this module working. It is necessary to put reset pin to ground for a few seconds and then it boots and reacts to AT commands. The default serial line speed on my module is 115200 Baud. I also did not know that I have to send correct line end by CTRL+j in minicom.

I finally managed to connect to my home wifi AP.

Vaclav


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
mravenca
Posted: December 15, 2017 05:09 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




My ESP-07 suddenly stopped responding to commands from serial line. Is there a way how to reset it to factory defaults?


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
Nothing40
Posted: December 16, 2017 08:52 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Forum Addict ++
*******

Group: Spamminator Taskforce
Posts: 3,781
Member No.: 181
Joined: October 05, 2002




Not without re-flashing it,that I know of. I assume you tried resetting/power-cycling it? Make sure GPIO-0 isn't held low for some reason,or it will boot into programming mode,and appear non-responsive.


--------------------
"we need an e-kick-in-the-nuts button" -Colt45
PMUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
mravenca
Posted: December 16, 2017 11:36 am
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




My pin configuration is

TXD -> Arduino Serial 2 RXD
RXD -> Level converter->Arduino Serial 2 TXD
GPIO15 -> GND
EN -> 3.3V
GND -> GND
VCC -> 3.3V

I am using a simple sketch on Arduino to transfer data bytes between Serial and Serial2 and I am connected to Arduino's Serial via USB and using minicom.

It was working properly and when I moved it to the robot chasis the serial communication with ESP-07 stopped working.

Vaclav




--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
mravenca
Posted: December 16, 2017 03:26 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




The ESP-07 device responds to ping because I previously configured it to connect to my home wifi network, but I am still not able to send any command via serial line. I tried to reset and power cycle it multiple times.


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
mravenca
  Posted: December 16, 2017 04:43 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




When I removed the circuit from the robot it started working and then I put it on the robot again and it stopped working and did not work after removing from robot again. I have a suspicion that I have bad contact in cables. My circuit contains a lot of cables and it is a bit messy.


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
mravenca
Posted: December 21, 2017 03:58 pm
Reply to this postQuote Post


Sr. Member
*****

Group: Trusted Members
Posts: 360
Member No.: 1,899
Joined: January 25, 2005




It seems that something fried my Arduino Mega's serial ports.

I tried to connect Arduino to PC via USB and attach USB to TTL converter to one of the serial ports, uploaded a simple sketch to Arduino that sends data between those two ports and I receive no data when I try to send something to serial port.

Vaclav

wacko.gif


--------------------
---
Programmer is a machine that turns coffee and cigarettes into software
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 


:: support us ::




ElectronicsSkin by DutchDork & The-Force